24
Mar
10

you don’t have to be Oscar wilde to write this

This poem written by an African child was nominated for the best poem of 2005:

“When I born, I black:
When I grow up, I black;
When I go in sun, I black;
When I scared, I black;
When I sick, I black &
When I die I still black.

And you white fellows:

When you born, u pink;
When u grow up, u white;
When u go in sun, u red;
When u cold, u blue;
When u scared, u yellow;
When u sick, u green;
When u die, u Grey;
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
……………….and you call me colored????”

0 Responses to “you don’t have to be Oscar wilde to write this”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

yeah, that’s me

pearls of wisdom

"Apparently people don't like the truth, but I do like it; I like it because it upsets a lot of people. If you show them enough times that their arguments are bullshit, then maybe just once, one of them will say, 'Oh! Wait a minute - I was wrong.' I live for that happening. Rare, I assure you."

Keep an eye

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers


